Significant Others who do not understand why you masturbate

Serious and intellectual discussions
blackboxer500

Significant Others who do not understand why you masturbate

Post by blackboxer500 »

I read a lot about masturbation. I’m very fortunate that my wife not only understands my solo practices, she encourages it. She also masturbates as part of our love life, and alone, and encourages me to explore the full extent of my sexuality.

I feel for those whose people’s significant others are not so accepting. A typical situation appears to be a guy who has both a good sex life with the spouse or girlfriend, or maybe it’s so-so, and who also masturbates alone, but in secret because the SO is under the impression that men with access to sex shouldn’t need to masturbate.

I’m not an expert, but I think all relationship advisors begin by talking about communication. If you don’t talk about it and she doesn’t know you like it then there’s a good chance she hasn’t thought about it. I realize some women know all guys masturbate, even happily married ones, but many people simply do not know that I-have-a-good-sex-life-but-also-like-masturbation is a thing. If their interest in sex does not extend to learning about it in general, they may still have the naive assumption that masturbation is only a substitute for times one cannot get sex with a partner.

Of course each situation is unique but I have faith that most people who don’t understand can be helped to understand. If my wife wasn’t accepting of my masturbation, I’d try to figure out how to change that. I’d start by reading experts. I just googled “married but masturbating” and a page full of useful articles popped up. It’s healthy, normal, and typically strengthens relationships.